DUI/DWI

Do not do it alone! If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, one of the worst things you can do is to represent yourself or plead guilty. Instead of taking unnecessary risks with your case, work with our knowledgeable and trusted DUI attorneys. Having an attorney by your side can greatly increase your chances of an acquittal or being sentenced to only the minimum penalties upon conviction.

Potential Penalties for DUI/DWI Conviction

Pennsylvania has a tiered system of penalties for DUIs based on your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), your previous record, and other factors.

The punishments for DUIs include:

  • First DUI - Misdemeanor, punishable by no jail time, up to 6 months of probation, fine of $30, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • First DUI with a High BAC (between 0.10 and 0.159 percent): Misdemeanor, punishable by between 2 days and 6 months in prison, a fine up to $5,000, a one-year license suspension, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • First DUI with an Extreme BAC (above 0.16 percent): Misdemeanor, punishable by between 3 days to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, 1-year license suspension, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • Second DUI: Misdemeanor, punishable by 5 days to 6 months in fail, a fine of up to $2,500, 1-year license suspension, 1-year ignition interlock device installation on your vehicle, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • Second DUI with a High BAC: Misdemeanor, punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, a 1-year license suspension, 1 year of an Ignition Interlock Device installation on your vehicle, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • Second DUI with an Extreme BAC: Misdemeanor, punishable by between 90 days and 5 years in jail, fines of up to $10,000, 18-month license suspension, 1-year of an Ignition Interlock Device installation on your vehicle, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • Third DUI: Second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by between 10 days and 2 years in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, a 1-year license suspension, 1-year of an Ignition Interlock Device installation on your vehicle, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • Third DUI with a High BAC: First-degree misdemeanor, punishable by between 90 days and 5 years in jail, a fine of up to $10,000, 18-month license suspension, 1-year of an Ignition Interlock Device installation on your vehicle, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

  • Third DUI with an Extreme BAC: First-degree misdemeanor, punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, an 18-month license suspension, 1-year of an Ignition Interlock Device installation on your vehicle, alcohol safety school, and treatment.

Other consequences of receiving a DUI in Pennsylvania go beyond the statutory penalties. A DUI conviction gives you a permanent criminal record, which could result in:

  • Ineligibility or difficulty obtaining professional licenses, including a commercial driver’s license;

  • Difficulty getting approved for rental housing

  • Child custody or visitation issues

  • High automobile insurance premiums;

  • Difficulty obtaining a job.

Defending Against a DUI

A DUI attorney can help you understand the charges against you, as well as defend you in court. There are several potential DUI defenses that could be used in your case, including:

  • An unreasonable search or seizure

  • Lack of probably cause for the initial stop

  • An unconstitutional DUI checkpoint

  • Vehicle was not driven on public roads

  • Chemical test was improperly administered

  • Chemical test equipment was not properly calibrated

  • Chemical test results are unreliable

  • Prosecution lacks sufficient evidence of intoxication

Proactive Counsel to Protect Your Interests

If you have been charged with any level of DUI in Pennsylvania, call 215-322-1084 or contact us for a free consultation to discuss all of the possible effects of a DUI conviction and benefits of representation.